People have different views about whether museums should be devoted to entertain or educate people. Personally, I believe that museums should cater for visitors with entertainment and education.

On the one hand, it is acceptable that museums should serve a main purpose of entertaining the general public. Many people like to go there to watch a rich variety of interesting objects, and also to make a perfect day out in their free time. This may be the reason why museums are designed to be virtually spectacular, having large collection from past and present, and offering activities or even games to make our visit more enjoyable. By contrast, a visiting person may become bored if he or she has to see or listen to too much educational content rather than interesting one. Therefore, museums often place more value on enjoyment but less on learning. On the other hand, it is equally important for a fascinating museum to focus on education. This is because the aim of any exhibition should be to teach visitors something that they did not know previously. This is particularly the history behind the museums’ exhibits that should be explained in various ways. Some museums have professional guides to talk to their visitors, whereas other provide headsets or have boards so visitors can listen to or read the full description of the exhibition. Thus, museums can be a great source to teach people about history, culture, science and many other aspects of life. In conclusion, in my opinion a museum should be able to sustain equally to the entertaining and educational activities so that people can have fun and learn something at the same time.