A company should limit its investments in social or environmental initiatives because this takes away much of its profits.

The investments in social or environmental initiatives can takes away much of a company profits. But it's mandatory, because of Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR). CSR is a concept whereby organizations consider the interests of society by taking responsibility for the impact of their activities on customers, employees, shareholders, communities and the environment in all aspects of their operations. This obligation is seen to extend beyond the statutory obligation to comply with legislation and sees organizations voluntarily taking further steps to improve the quality of life for employees and their families as well as for the local community and society at large. For example, Google has demonstrated its commitment to the environment by investing in renewable energy sources and sustainable offices. To demonstrate good business citizenship, firms can report compliance with a number of CSR standards The scale and nature of the benefits of CSR for an organization can vary depending on the nature of the enterprise, and are difficult to quantify, though there is a large body of literature exhorting business to adopt measures beyond financial ones CSR may be based within the human resources, business development or public relations departments of an organization, or may be given a separate unit reporting to the CEO or in some cases directly to the board. In conclusion, Most companies should practice some form of corporate social and environmental responsibility. So that we can build a better society.