It is certainly true that a university degree most probably leads to a desirable and lucrative job. However, I would not agree to this statement that it is the only way; rather I would say in some cases a university course is necessary while in others it is not as useful as the experience.

Undoubtedly, there are certain of cases wherein a higher education is required. As in the case of becoming a qualified professional, or in other words the profession of doctor or lawyer could only be adopted with a degree. Another advantage of graduating from university is that it widens one’s choices when it comes to seizing a job. A candidate who holds a degree has more chances of impressing an employee than one who only has high school qualification. This is because the university student has shown a necessary level of commitment, self-disciplined and intelligence while studying a course for three to four years. On the other hand, it is probably beneficial to start your career early, especially if you are interested in a field which is not based on university education. This may be true, for example, in a profession of being car mechanic, or a fashion designer because the hands-on experience in those occupations gives you extra advantage of being perfect in your job. I once came into contact with a person who was a wealthy and successful investment broker, but he had left his education in twelfth standard. He claimed that he had learnt all necessary skills or deals by working in his chosen field. In conclusion, while I accept that a university degree gives us an opportunity to get a job with a permanent salary, I believe that in some cases it is possible to shape our career without a certified qualification.