People have a lot of opinions about the value of advanced education. Which do you think is the most important reason to attend college or university?

Because of the complexities of modern life, in order to be succeeded, everyone has to have advanced education to be prepared for this competitive world. Although sometimes it is practically possible to be self-educated, learning systematically, like attending university or college is a more preferable method. Universities have many advantages, but the most important one is that they required us to be well-prepared for our future careers. There are several reasons why I feel this way, two of which are going to be aptly explored in the following essay. First, attending university is not just about getting a degree, but we have the golden opportunity to interact with students and professors, which help us to expand our network with the ones who are likely to help us in our future life. In contrast, if we are out of university, we may have some skills, but because of the confined circle of our professional network, we will have more struggles in our business. For instance, several years ago, when I was at university studying my undergraduate, I had many opportunities to find new friends from a variety of majors. By attending the soccer team of our department, I could make relationships with students from computer majors and social science. After graduation, I continued and cemented relationships with them. Thanks to my networking potential, I could start a business by enlisting the helping hand of my college friends. Our business is based on multidisciplinary research, using a variety of disciplines. If had not found good friends from university, it would have been very challenging to be succeeded in today’s competitive world. Second, universities are not just about establishing friendships, but also we can use the opportunity of learning skill sets that will be very useful in our career. For instance, when I was at university, studying urban planning for a master's degree, I had a specific opportunity to learn some special skills. In my dorm there was a student from computer programming major, I could learn the C++ language, which is so important in my own major. Additionally, from my professor, I could learn some economical models that I used in my career as a way of economic empowerment of poor people of our local community. It may seem reasonable that we can learn these kinds of skills on our own without attending university, but it is a mentally demanding task which a few numbers individuals can be succeeded. On balance, I firmly believe that universities have many advantages to help us to succeed in our careers. This is because they not only help us to extend our relationship with different people but also provide us the golden opportunity to learn skills that will be mostly impossible to get them in other ways.