Today, it is common that TV news programs show images of disasters and violence. Discuss the reasons and effect on the individual and society.

In the age of technology as today, the effect of the media on society and individuals is undeniable. The rise of bad news that are being shown recently has raised a great concern about its effect on people. One of the main reasons why bad news dominates the headlines nowadays is that the new outlets' intention to increase television rating points. Television rating points based on the rate of people watching the news and the higher rating points, the more benefit that TV programers received from advertising. Moreover, TV channels nowadays are operated in a mass media industry, competing with various types of potential competitors, so that capturing the attention of news consumers and bombarding them with shocking news such as murdering, starving etc is necessary. Additionally, media consumers nowadays have a tendency to prefer negative news over good news and psychology has also proved that people tend to hear and remember bad news as a reaction to us to avoid danger. Especially in the middle of the pandemic of covid19, everybody has to stay at home, staying informed by the news is crucial. Although negative news provides important information to ourselves, repeated exposure to violence and disturbing news can heavily affect individuals and so on society. Bad news often contains improper images, description of violent manners and behaviour that can directly cause mental illness to the audience. Children watching the news are also a vulnerable subject because of their lack of awareness. They can imitate dangerous actions that they saw on tv and cause serious consequences. If violence news keeps showing on TV, this can distort the cognition of a whole generation due to the exposure of disturbing news. In the long run, humans might lose their belief in the world, fear and feeling threatened by society, leading to a dissolve society. In conclusion, bad news can affect heavily to individuals and society, but if we use media for good purpose