People generally buy the things not because they need it but it is because others have it. Agree and disagree?

In contemporary society, generally people buy many things in routine life because they required those things. But sometimes people are purchasing those things because of other have it, make standard in society and commercial advertisement. I agree the statement that people buy the things not for their requirement but they buy things because of others have it. I favor the statement because of following reasons. To begin with, young generations are more allured the new things such as electronic gadget, trendy attires, automobiles etc. It is normally happened that children are force to their parent to buying new things because their friends have it. I had experience in my home. One month ago, my younger brother bring new smart phone because of his friend has that phone. Although his has not need phone for study, he buy it. Furthermore, some people boast to other that he/she is belonging to richer or wealthier family. It is most happened in the city area, where people buy unnecessary thing for only show up not buy for really needs. For an example, in my society everyone has own car, my neighbor is new in the society. After, one month she buy car. Her mother asked her why she buy expensive car. She told her mother that she bought it because of she feel shy that she only has no own car and all society members have their own car to each family member that is a reasons she buy car. I really shocked at that time to listen her reasons that she buy car for only show off that she also richer and her father has also car. Moreover, advertisement and friend influence to people. Sometimes people misunderstand or attract things and buying it. People see the advertisement of products on television, media, and newspaper. And when some friend talk about the products and their feature people easily attracted to the product because of he has already see the feature in advertisement and friend also talking about that. For an instance, I recently bought mop because of my friend and sales manger insist me that it is benefit to us that easily cleaning the floor without hard work. In brief, contemplating all the aforementioned reasons, children as well as adults buy the things because other people have it. This situations happened because of influence of friend and relative, for maintain status is society, and attraction of things.