People face far greater risks in our modern way of life than they did in the past" How far

Nowadays, technology is increasingly developed, we are living in a really modern world. This contributes to put forward a question whether people face far greater risks in our modern way of life than we did in the past. I agree with this statement and in those lines, I will give you some specific information to support my opinion. People are suffering from a great loss which are made by modern things. As we all know, traffic accidents has always been a part of our life, yet the level and severity are larger than ever before. Annually there are hundreds of thousand accidents caused by cars, planes, . . not to mention the wounded, great numbers of occupants are died. Additionally, we also witness series of tragic incidents because of leaking nuclear power, leaking electricity, . . . . which still leave enormous consequences at this time. Such things always create a profound fear in everyone's mind. Furthermore, the use of modern technology from factories, enterprises, . . . has caused environmental pollution and this indirectly generated climate changes. Therefore natural disasters may happen anytime, anywhere and even on an ultra large scale. Many countries in the world have to restore everything after floods, earthquakes, tsunamis, . . . many people are homeless, famished, infected, . . . and worst of all is death. So it is believed that "the more modern this world is, the more dangerous it becomes". Life is difficult, no matter which periods we live, I believe there are always hazards associated with one each, it is just smaller or bigger. In conclusion, the development of modern life has brought back a greater risk than in the past, however, we can not deny the benefits of modern life in some aspects