People do not have enough money to pay internet. Should the governments provide free internet service to everyone?

Much like the telephone or the television, the internet has become an integral part of our day-to-day existence. However, the internet is expensive and this prevents many people from accessing this limitless source of knowledge and information. This, however, doesn’t mean that the government should provide free internet to everyone. All over the world, the number of people who use the internet is steadily on the rise and that is hardly surprising. The internet is a vast source of knowledge and entertainment. In fact, having a computer with an internet connection is a bit like having all the books in the world under one’s disposal. The internet is even better because it allows you to find the necessary information in a matter of seconds. The internet also provides entertainment and keeps us up-to-date with the latest happenings in the world. And hence one cannot underestimate the importance of internet. However, saying that the government should provide free internet to everyone is kind of absurd. In a world where we have to pay for basic necessities like food and medicine, demanding that the internet should be free is a bit ridiculous. It is a useful service but for many people there are far more pressing needs. For example, millions of people across the world still have no access to safe drinking water or electricity. Tens of thousands of people are homeless. A lot of them haven’t even heard about the internet. What they need are the basic necessities of life and not free internet. After analysing the situation it is not hard to see that the basic necessities of life are far more important than the internet. Of course, the internet is useful, but it is not indispensable. And hence the governments should use their resources to provide the basic amenities rather than giving free internet.