Many people today feel that art classes are no longer necessary in schools. They think that technology classes are more important.

The issue of whether art education is necessary for children at school has been heatedly debated by the general public nigh on a decade. Some people are utterly convinced that technology classes are of primary importance; however, I am of the opinion that art-related classes have similar significance. In what follows, I will proceed with arguments and examples to substantiate and corroborate my stance. While there are a number of possible ways to justify my position, one of the core arguments that I would like to make in this debate is that art subjects including music, drawing, painting and sculpture enable schoolchildren to relieve the stress after studying in natural science classes. One can effortlessly grasp a straightforward reasoning behind it: after concentrating intently on subjects like physics, chemistry or mathematics, what a young learner desperately needs is a golden opportunity to unwind by being involved in some activities which would help school students to balance their mind. To exemplify, according to a recent survey conducted by British scientists a whopping 87% of teenage respondents admitted that singing a song in the music class could arouse/provoke intense positive emotions. Sometimes neglected, уet similarly cogent, reason is that not only can studying art aid a child to become a well-rounded individual but it also enhances the pupil’s mental abilities as well as it broadens his or her horizons. More specifically, it is well worth a mention that art improves fine motor skills, hand-eye coordination, and problem-solving skills which may assist children to attain better learning outcomes. A salient example of this could be my second cousin whose overall academic performance was on the mend/rise once he embarked on clay modelling, acrylic painting and charcoal drawing. To recapitulate, I wholeheartedly believe that art classes are of the utmost importance in the educational process predominantly due to the fact that they let students destress after science-related subjects and, furthermore, art classes are likely to turn a young boy or girl into a versatile person with high intellectual potential.