Many people believe that children should do unpaid social work. How far

Children are the backbone of every nation. There are certain people who believe that youngsters should be allowed to participate in volunteering activities as it will be beneficial for the society as well as helpful for the growth of individual. It is indeed a fact that social service provides an intense self-satisfaction to the person and makes them a better person. I am also a believer that this motivation has more advantages than drawbacks. To embark upon, social work done by children is associated with their personality development. There is no doubt that volunteering work will shape up and nourish the young minds. To illustrate, if they start convincing the residents of rural areas to send their children to school, they have to develop a convincing attitude with efficient verbal skills to deal with people of diverse areas. Certainly, this will help children to inculcate communication skills, tolerance, patience and many more life skills in them. Besides, younger generation is much more enthusiastic and they will serve their country whole heartedly. Certainly, they will develop self -confidence and feeling of patriotism. Moreover, these skills broaden their horizon and impart moral values as well as social skills in them. On the other hand, there are sure shot disadvantages of this practice. Children are going to school to learn, participate in sports and all kinds of extracurricular activities. In this competitive era, there is already so much pressure on younger generation from their parents, teachers and peers. Therefore, they should not be expected to indulge in form social service without reaping benefits of any kind as this can be quite demotivating for them. To conclude, participating in unpaid work should not be forcefully imposed on children. It should be their free will to be involved in welfare work. Although, proper care and supervision is necessary to avoid any adverse effects.