People choose to be self-employed. Discuss the reasons and disadvantages for the same.

In the current economy, many people prefer to be self-employed. Though working in a company or an organisation is also preferred by many. There are two major reasons why people prefer to be self-employed which are freedom and flexible work timings. Many people don't like working for someone else and cannot take orders from someone superior to them. According to a majority of people, it is easier to save and maintain financial security. They believe in not just passing the life but to have finances to make the best of the current situation and yet be secure for the future. Flexible work timings is another reason why people opt to be self-employed. There can be employees who have some personal commitments to fulfill which might become a roadblock in their professional career. For example, a friend of my mother had to give up on her job in a company because of the health issues of her child. Her child had developed a rare deficiency termed protein-energy malnutrition which made her allergic to any food item with wheat. Her child's degrading health required considerable attention and hence she chose to work from home as a tiffin service provider. The flexibility with work timings allows self-employed people to manage their timelines by themselves. Like every coin has two sides, there are some disadvantages to be self-employed. The first and foremost is stability. Working in an organisation is comparatively much more stable than a business that might or might not give profits. Secondly, all the expenses and even the minor work such as a work setup issue has to be handled by yourself whereas in a company such expenses and work are already handled. Another primary issue is the initial cost of the setup of the business or startup. The cost of the initial setup for being self-employed might be too high for people. To sum up, both self-employment or working in a company have their pros and cons and one must choose one according to their requirement.