People can go to shops and banks and work with computers, but some peopleworry that computers make people get more isolated and lose some social skills.

With the development of the internet, computers are used for various purposes including shopping and banking. Some people say that this widespread use of computers for daily tasks will make people more isolated and lose some social skills. However, I partially disagree with these people, even though there may be fewer opportunities for face-to-face interaction. There are several reasons why people are worried about a less humane society resulting from the increased use of computers for daily tasks such as going to the shops and banks. Human relations may get too business-oriented as people do not meet the bank tellers or sales advisers in person. Making small talk or jokes with these people is a crucial part of developing social skills, and there are fewer chances for people to practice these skills online. At the same time, it is hard to make friends as people have fewer opportunities to talk to strangers. As a result, people will feel lonely and isolated. However, I do not think that people will get less sociable as a result of increased online transactions for several reasons. Firstly, people usually do not form friendships with people they meet for business purposes; thus, it is hardly likely that this will deprive people of opportunities to make friends. Secondly, daily tasks like shopping and banking do not require many social skills. The kinds of social skills involved with shopping and banking are rather minor. Loss of opportunities to meet these people for functional purposes does not make people lose social skills in general. Finally, social skills are much more needed in rather long-term relationships, for example, with colleagues, or friends, and family members. As long as they meet face-to-face in workplaces, schools, or social gatherings, people can learn and practice social skills. In conclusion, I do not believe that using computers for daily tasks will cause people to feel isolated and lack social skills, as they still meet people offline in other formal or private relationships. The use of computers may even help people to form strong personal relationships with friends and family members as they can save time spent for those daily tasks and join private gatherings more often.