People believe that individuals who make a lot of money are the most successful. Others say that those who contribute to society like scientists, teacher are the most successful.

Many people believe that success can only be measured either by individuals’ sum of wealth or their contribution to science and education. This is not entirely true because many great business people have made significant advances in science and education. In this essay, I argue that while the former view, which may signify the result of one’s genius and vision, is an understandable premise for measuring success; the latter, which is traditionally valued, proves to be the superior measurement. Many admirers of wealthy business people have reasons to think that being rich is a proof of success. Business magnates like Bill Gates, Jeff Bezos and Elon Musk have changed the course of human history through their brainchildren. Their products such as the Window Operating System, Amazon and Paypal have helped make the booming virtual economy we know today despite early ridicules and sabotage from technology skeptics. These moguls also possess spectacular business acumen and their subsequent investments, in real estate or crypto-currency such as Bitcoin, have yielded in even more wealth for them. While I agree that being wealthy can signify success, it is only the byproduct and that lasting academic contribution to society is a far better criterion to define success. Educators and scientists have historically been heralded as heroes due to the belief that intellectuals, through their academic contributions, are shapers of minds and thus their influence can last for generations. However, it should be clarified that a rich person can indeed contribute to science and education. For instance, inventing Google has made Larry Page a billionaire and Google has undoubtedly provided means and platforms to usher modern education into a new era. Elon Musk, for his Tesla vehicles, should be regarded as the father of future transportation rather than as a man who temporarily became the richest human being. In conclusion, pursuing wealth does not automatically disqualify a person from contributing intellectually. However, I assert that lasting academic contributions to society should be the priority when considering a person’s success.