Benefits of learning language: job oportunities or understanding other culture

In recent years, there seems to be a debate on whether learning languages is more beneficial, in increasing career opportunities or in understanding other cultures. Moreover, this has become more evident to me after listening a radio emission on the matter. In my opinion, the more fluent in languages, the morse successful professionals are likely to be. Therefore, the main question is which benefits are more vital on this issue? To start with, being able to find suitable positions according with people preferences is, in all likelihood, the biggest advantage of languages acquisition, allowing candidates to make applications for international rewarding vacancies. Not only are taking into account their linguistic skills, they also are supposed to be hard workers, highly qualified for these short of jobs. Nevertheless, what could be a drawback is that some companies, such some supermarkets, are taking advantage of this, although the lack of necessity of linguistic competencies in their workplaces. In addition to the range of possibilities for improving people careers, being multilingual enables people to approach other cultures and to open their minds. What is more, this led to diverse and multicultural societies. For this reason, something along the lines of implementing languages exchanges in local communities might be considered in order to bring tolerant attitudes and perspectives towards others. In light of the above, I hold the view that if we were to tackle these issues our societies would be more interconnected in the global world. However, due to its direct impact I would pay greater attention to the benefits of multilingualism in the increasement of job opportunities.