People attend colleges or universities for many different reasons (for example, new experiences, career preparation, increased knowledge etc. ). Why do you think people attend colleges or universities? You should

Educational institutes are the primary source of learning, but some people join them for different purposes. Many students join to boost their career or to enhance their social circle to have a valuable place in society. But I joined the university to gain more knowledge and a degree. In this essay, some common reasons are discussed with examples. It is commonly known that many students attend the universities just to have higher degrees because higher degree holders enjoy special treatment in every walk of life. Moreover, they easily get jobs in reputed multinational companies on the basis of their educational certificates. For example, according to a survey conducted by the sociology department of MIT in 2000, in Asian countries, the social status of a doctor or a lawyer is much more than any other professional. That ultimately motivates most of the students to choose these fields. In the same way, Europeans and Americans prefer to become economists or scientists. On the other hand, fellow students come from different parts of the country to attend the university that is why it is the best way for an attendee to increase their social circle. Furthermore, they learn different types of approaches to tackle any educational or non-education problems with each other. For instance, a student learns about different cultures and their customs, in a multi-cultural environment. As a student should have the knowledge of diverse culture as well as professional skills. Professional skills and good social circles are basic pillars of any business. In conclusion, students should not attend the university with a clear motive. They need to choose their profession wisely and then focus on their professional skills rather than getting a higher degree to enjoy the temporary social status.