people are sending their elders to nursing homes. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this

It is increasingly common for the families to send their elder relatives to nursing homes instead of caring for them at home. This essay will highlight some of the benefits and the drawbacks that have resulted from this switch. Looking firstly at the positives, a significant advantage of sending older people to care homes is that these places are better equipped as compared to family homes. In other words, they usually have facilities like elevators and wheelchair needed to deal with the mobility problem of the people of this age. In addition to this, twenty-four-seven medical services and assistance ensure the proper well being of old age, which otherwise would be difficult to do at home. For instance, the staff employed in old-age homes are trained professionals to meet the demands of the elderly. These skills are rarely possessed by the members of the family. However, care homes for the elderly also possess certain disadvantages, the most obvious of which is the lack of loved ones around. Although it is possible for relatives and friends to visit nursing home residents, these visits are very infrequent, and loneliness are the consequence. To make the matter worse, it has been observed that those who are lonely are at greater risk of getting depressed. Furthermore, care home residents are often surrounded by illness and death. Such an environment is likely to curtail the happiness and trigger depression. In conclusion, despite the benefits of specially-trained staff and well-equipped facilities that a nursing home offers to the elderly, the drawbacks of loneliness and depression should also be taken into consideration.