People are obsessed with buying or acquiring material things (such as expensive clothes, cars) because people judge others by what they possess.

With the proliferation of the economy, people tend to live luxurious lives. A statement that can be raised here is that since most people evaluate others by looking at the appearance of their lives nowadays, they are sensitive to having precious stuff. Some experts say that this mentality, in the long term, could make our whole society’s value systems disintegrate. From my perspective, I partly agree with this statement. Firstly, some people want to put their lives in a showcase to show their power and authority in this way. Individuals believe that the more cost-effective material goods they buy, the more power they have. Then they intend to spend more time behind their economic work to earn a large amount of money. Hence, people can not have time to behave like a family member, in other words, they can become reckless. For instance, the majority of businessmen have a dearth of time for their love once. Hence, they are not able to play their role as a member of the family, which can lead them to worse situations. Such as divorce and so on. Secondly, which deserves some words here, is that advertising in TV serials and films has an impact on people's lives. Perhaps we unintentionally admire the way of living of rich people and regret what they have. This attitude brings about the respect of the people that have luxurious lives and think that they are better than us. Therefore, individuals pay attention to the new products and try to conduct pretentiously to get others' admiration. In conclusion, though a highly visible minority of our society is indeed deteriorating because of materialism, I strongly take the view that materialism is a part of world evolution and we should be more open-minded. Those who are obsessed with material goods will soon wake up to the fact that true happiness has nothing to do with being rich or famous.