People are living longer nowadays. This is leading to a greater number of old people than young people in many countries. Will this development bring more benefits or drawbacks?

In today’s millennium, people tend to live longer, as a result population of elder people has outnumbered the population of young people. This essay will discuss that although this development has advantages in some ways, it will bring more drawbacks than benefits. The primary benefit of having longer age is that elders get more time to spend with their grandchildren, and this is possible due to the fact of improvement in medical equipment and improved medical services. As a result older people get recover from diseases and live longer than expected. For instance, many countries such as the USA or UK, have developed machines that can cure form various diseases like blood cancer. The major drawback of this situation is that it will hinder the growth of country in light of the fact that the majority of working population belongs to elder group and youth don’t get enough opportunities to put their ideas in action. For instance, in Japan 60 percent of individuals belong to age of 50 and above and as a result of this there is decline in its growth, even though Japan is a developed country. In my opinion, increase in the life expectancy rate will lead to various problems. Firstly, it can lead to increase in population. Secondly, it can lead to another World war because we have limited resource. In conclusion, despite the increase in the life expectancy rate has benefits, the drawbacks, such as increasing population or scarcity of resources, outcast all the advantages.