Comment on the main theme of The Road Not Taken

In “The Road Not Taken” by Robert Frost, the author sets up the poem’s main theme – the choice, which is difficult to make. At the beginning of the poem, he shows us one fact that no one can predict the sequel or the future after they make a decision. Even though we always look “down one as far as” we could and compare between choices, the future is still blurry to us. In addition, the author says, the choices are always “as just as fair” and “really about the same”. So we are likely to want to keep “the first for another day”. The fact that choices are equal, which makes us afraid of missing the opportunity, afraid of choosing the wrong one, as the obvious truth is that “way leads on to way”. We doubt if we “should ever come back” to choose again. Clearly, we know that once it's done, there's no turning back. Frost keeps on showing us one of the natural human psychology when faced with choices. We tend to tell a “sigh” about the choice we do not make rather than the choice we make afterward. We still hang on “the other” and wonder how it is different if we choose that path. However, even it is hard for us to make a decision, we are the only ones who can choose our path, and “that has made all the difference”, even after that we may regret it sometimes in the future.