People are increasingly becoming concerned about protecting the environment from pollution caused by fossil fuels. Much of the pollution comes from car engines and some have suggested electric cars could be the solution. Do you think electric cars could be better for the environment? What are their advantages and disadvantages?

It is quite true that due to unrestricted usage of fossil fuels like petrol and diesel, we have spoilt our environment. If we want to stop further damage to our mother Earth, then we should curtail the usage of engines which operates on fossil fuels, and switch to sustainable alternatives like electric cars. I completely agree that electric cars can effectively save our environment. To begin with, Let us understand the pros of electric cars. The major advantage is they are environment-friendly as they do not release any air pollutants. Moreover, they generate bare minimum noise. As a result, levels of air and noise pollution will surely go down. Furthermore, In a long-run, they are more cheaper than the petrol or diesel cars as our spendings on fuels will be almost zero. On the other hand, There are few cons of using electric cars. The initial cost or on-road price of these cars are far more higher than their rivals. For example, a Tesla electric car will cost us around 40, 000 USD, whereas a KIA petrol car will cost us around 20, 000 USD. Secondly, The infrastructure of charging stations have not been established at most of the places. This could create a problematic situation if an electric car owner wants to head towards any destination where charging stations are not available. To conclude, I would reiterate my opinion that the electric cars are a fitting solution for environmental issues as they do not create air or noise pollution. There are some limitations of using electric cars, but they will be targeted in near future when popularity of electric cars will gain momentum.