Nowadays, consumers tend to buy more processed / pre-cooked food. Some people believe that this change improved the way people live.

With the considerable convenience of processed foods,  it is going to become more prevalent and whether processed foods will bring positive or negative impacts to our lives has drawn much discussion among the general public. While I accept that pre-cooked foods could have some advantages, I would argue that it still has drawbacks in modern life. On the one hand, this convennience of processed foods could be seen as a postive trend in some cases. To illustrate, convenience foods can offer a wide range of benefits such as shortening the time of meal preparation and easily cleaning up as these types of foods are designed to be eaten immediately after basically adding boiled water, heating or thawing. Moreover, processed foods are regarded as packaged products which have already seasoned with suitable ingredients, including sugar and trans-fat, with trans-fat is the main factor that contributing to maintain the flavour of food. Thus, most of convenience foods play a pivotal role in the hectic schedules people have these days On the other hand, in spite of aforementioned advantages, health and environmental problems can be the main disadvantages of convenience foods. Consumers can have potential ailments such as obesity and diabetes or even cancers because of harmful ingredients within processed foods. The evidence of this can be found in individuals with a healthy overall well-being as they have a tendency to opt for organic and home-cooked dishes instead of pre-cooked foods. Additionally, convenience foods is one of the factors that leading to global warming and ozone depletion, due to the industrial manufactoring processes and a huge amount of waste In conclusion, despite the arguments for the negative impacts of processed foods to physical well-being, I believe that it could also bring some merits to human race