Recently, there have been an increasing number of school students choosing to take standardized English examinations like TOEFL, IELTS or TOEIC. ” What are the causes of this trend?

In this day and age, there is a tendency that school learners trying to take a standardized English examination, namely TOEFL, IELTS, or TOEIC. In my perspective, I firmly believe that various reasons can be attributed to this phenomenon, which will be addressed below. Firstly, there is a shot in the arm in government policy that high school students don’t have to participate in the English entrance exam if they possess a 6. 0 IELTS qualification. This means that they can get away from the depression of one of the most arduous exams, which can waste a great amount of their time to prepare for it. Moreover, had it not been for the proper level to Vietnamese students, those exams wouldn’t be a dime a dozen. For instance, in order to pass the exams in terms of typical high school learners, they just need about a year of hard-working to achieve the standard grades in the examination. Last but not least, having the tests such as TOEFL, IELTS or TOEIC, might open the door for students with desired opportunities in studying abroad. For instance, in order to study in the US’s universities, it is vital to have some qualifications including the IELTS and SAT. In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are numerous reasons why this trend occurred, such as the learners can be benefited from the government’s policy or chances to study outside of their countries.