Peer pressure is effective to motivate students. Do you agree?

Peer pressure is a very effective method when it comes to motivate and boost students academically. Peer pressure is able to influence individuals to change their behavior and it can also influence students that are under pressure to work harder than usual. Peer pressure is something that happens often and something that is unavoidable for students. For example, when their friends join and win competitions regularly there will be a feeling that pushes them to keep up with their friends. Not only that they can improve academically, they can also help in improving their personality and behavior. This is one of the example that motivates them to work harder. However, there are negatives sides from peer pressure. Peer pressure can lead to unnecessary stress, and leave a high expectation on themself. Working hard is understandable, but it is not necessary to push themselves too much. They can always talk with their parents for emotional support. Those are something that they should always keep in mind. In conclusion, I believe that peer pressure is a very effective way to motivate students and they should always be made aware of the negative sides of being under peer pressure.