What are the advantages and disadvantages to having one language in the world?

These days, English is the most used language around the world for business, tourism or education. In several countries, it is common to see it as part of the curriculum of various educational institutions. Likewise, it is often a requirement by multinational companies when they hire their employees. As such, it would not be a surprise if English becomes the only language that will be used around the world by future generations. I will discuss the advantages and disadvantages of having English as the sole means of communication. As mentioned above, at present, English is already widely used for business transactions, education and other purposes. It is easy to learn because it is already being taught in several schools all around the world. By having one single language, communication would become so much easier amongst nations and translators will no longer be necessary. By having a common tongue, travelers need not worry about getting lost or having difficulty in understanding the locals as they go from one place to another. Nevertheless, by having English as the single language, some countries whose native languages are strongly reflected in their culture, would lose part of their identity. There are also some people who consider languages as a form art and with only English left, a certain form of creativity could also disappear. Likewise, the excitement and mystery that some people find in learning other languages will also be gone. In summary, there are several benefits that the world can gain from having English as a uniform language as this would ease out communication and make transaction across nations less difficult. However, it also has some negative impact as it can lead to the loss of some nations’ culture, a form of creative expression and also some people’s hobby.