Patriotism can be defined as love, devotion and loyalty for one’s country. But to me it means so much more.

Patriotism can be defined as love, devotion and loyalty to one’s country. But to me it means so much more. To me, patriotism means supporting our country even in difficult times; never losing faith in our country; flying the flag to show respect and proud of our homeland; and honouring those who have served in the defence of this nation, both alive and deceased, retired and active. Patriotism is a deep-rooted tradition of our nation, preserved and handed down from generation to generation. Not only does it fall into oblivion, it is being upheld more vigorously, especially in today's society. It can be said that patriotism is manifested in several respects. In different periods of time, Vietnamese people show a great sense of patriotism in their own ways. In the years of fierce resistance of the nation, patriotism was the indomitable spirit, the craving for independence and freedom which encouraged people to struggle against foreign invaders and anti-communists under the glorious banner of the Communist Party of Vietnam. It was the national solidarity among fellow soldiers coming under lethal weapons together. It was the revolutionary fervour, the willingness to make the ultimate sacrifice for the sake of nation’s independence at the front-line. It was also the hidden and silent sacrifice of mothers and wives in the rear. Thousands of generations, even if they have laid down their life for the sake of our country, actually become immortal. They are commemorated by us- their countrymen and are honoured all over the world as they have suffered great hardships for their country and even sacrificed everything for the freedom of it. How can we forget a To Vinh Dien having taken it on himself to block the artillery, a Phan Dinh Giot having filled himself in the battlements and millions of people laying their lives down for the crimson flag, the liberty and a shining patriotism. Even nowadays, many people are serving our nation with full dedication in whatever ways they can. Nevertheless, the spirit of patriotism is gradually fading since the youth of today do not feel as strongly for his or her country as the previous generations felt. The parents, as well as teachers, must make an effort to instill the spirit of patriotism in the coming generations. They must sharpen the sense of patriotism so that the youngsters of the country deeply respect the country, feels attached to it, make efforts and work towards creating a strong nation. We must have respect, love and sense of belongings for our country but simultaneously, we must not hold prejudice against other countries to avoid the outbreak of wars between the two nations Our flag is not just a piece of coloured cloth, but it is a symbol of liberty, freedom, sacrifice and is marked by the blood of those who have died defending it. When a person realizes this, only then he or she can become a true patriot and can inspire others around him to work towards building a developed and powerful nation.