Particularly city over time due to urbanization

Over 100 years of de establishment and development, nowadays Da Lat city is one of the most favorite tourist cities in Vietnam. Its population is about 250. 000 habitants in 2020 and is increasing rapidly due to the development policy of the authorities. In addition, Da Lat is the first grade city of the Lam Dong province. This city of flowers has the ultimate virtual paradise all year with flowers blooming in a cool climate. It is a famous place for relaxation and sightseeing with more than 2, 130 accommodation establishments and about 80 tourist attractions. Therefore, tourism is the visible strength that the government often invests heavily. According to data of Lam Dong Provincial People’s Committee, in 2020, Da Lat - Lam Dong welcomed 4 million visitors that were down 44% compared to 2019 because of the pandemic. The government hopes that it might be increased when we are getting out of the Covid-19. As the development of the whole country, Da Lat is no exception to that trend. At the present, this highland city play an important hub of Lam Dong province and Highlands region based on the infrastructure such as National Highways, Da Lat – Dau Giay highway, Lien Khuong international airport. About ten years ago, we had spent more than 8 hours to travel from HCM City to this valley city. In contrast, the time is much shorter now by using the highway. As these advantages, Da Lat can create the favorable conditions for international economic transactions and cooperation with others regions. Most of the targets set out in the past 5 years (2015-2020) have been achieved or exceeded. Up to now, the city has basically no more poor households and is confirmed as the economic "leading" of Lam Dong province. As this development, urbanization is necessary. paying attention to investment in urban infrastructure connection is one of the key programs of the authorities. Therefore, urban quality is improved, the urbanization rate increased to 40. 2% (2020). In 2018, the government approved the project “Building Da Lat city into a smart city” in the 2018-2025. After more than 2 years of realizing, Da Lat initially achieve some importants results on construction of telecommunications and information technology infrastructures such as administrative procedures, government, urban planning, tourism, education, health, then these things will creat the advantages for the next step of the project. Urban development such as smart city bring many benefits to the community, environment and society. This is what the authorities is aiming for. However, there are the problems when Da Lat become a modern city. Firstly, the traffic congestion. This is the problem that every major cities in the world has to face. As an aspect of the urbanization, the population is increasing rapidly, the traffic flow consequently has a big change, especially on the weekend or holidays when the people from others regions go to this ctiy for a trip. Da Lat was known as a city without traffic lights, and now the authorities suggest to have the light to resolve this problem. Besides this, the city has face to the deforestation. As a valley city, Da Lat is famous for the immense pine forest, but according the report in 2019, Da Lat's forest cover decreased to 49%. The authorities set the goal to reach 51% in 2020 by impose the stricter law for exploitation or establish fire prevention and forest protection. Following the urbanization, the water quality is affected too. Nowadays, Da Lat has a difficult problem with domestic waste due to the inefficient treatment. In addition, throwing insconsciously garbage at the tourist sites affects directly to the environement, speciallly to the streams and lakes in Da Lat. However, the authorities have not yet the efficient solution to handle it. The other problem in Da lat at present is destruction of the landscape and the heritage due to the urban development. Recently, in Da Lat, it is not difficult to see the buildings what are similar to a modern city like HCMC. The height of these buildings are destroying the natural landscape and the heritage sites. For instance, recently the government of Da Lat suggest 3 plans to reconstruct the space of the hill where an ancient building is located. This is the green space in the heart of the city. All 3 plans, 1 result: a luxury hotel complex. Of course, theses ideas received many protests. Faced with the risk of overcrowding in terms of density of houses, residents and visitors, the authorities is implementing the policy to decentralization to reduce the burden of the city.