Parents think that their children should spend as much time as possible on tablets such as iPad in order to be updated and understand the technology better.

It is thought by many parents around the world that using tablets are one of the most important way to follow and learn about the recent technological improvements and children should be encouraged to spend time on tablets. While this offers a few advantages, there are also some disadvantages which are worth considering. One of the many advantages of using tablets is that children can update themselves about the new technologies of modern world and might be able to adapt better to the future. Today, tablets are used for many purposes in our daily lives and by using tablets children might have chance to learn how to use these devices beneficially. Another advantage is that tablets might replace the books and papers since they can carry many books digitally and they can be used as notebooks. Therefore, children can be saved from carrying many heavy books on their bags. On the other hand, various drawbacks may be noted. In the first place, children might spend too much time on tablets. When children use their tablets to play video games, they might not be able to manage their times so they may fail on their studies. Additionally, tablets allow children to connect internet which may involve many inappropriate contents for them. Thus, their psychological development might be affected negatively from this situation. In conclusion, there are both benefits and drawbacks related to this topic. While tablets can be used for educational purposes and help children to learn much about the current technologies, there are possible harmful effects of tablets such as distracting children from their studies or exposing them to adult content on internet. Therefore, given this situation it is recommended to weigh the benefits against the drawbacks carefully before coming to a decision as to whether let children use their tablets as much as possible.