Dishonesty and relationship

Lust is like gasoline that is used to starts the fire, but the fire will quickly fade away if it's the only fuel. You need to add other sources of fuel to maintain the flame and prevent it from burning out. The same logic is applied to relationships, but, unlike a furnace, an alternative fuel for a relationship isn't very simple to find. Personally, I believe that a little bit of this dishonestly is required to make the relationship last. In this essay, I will try to explain my point of view and try to reach a conclusion. Undoubtedly, honesty and trust are the major pillars that support the relationship to last for a long time. However, humans are fragile creatures that got hurt by criticism and insults. These words are like tidal waves that are hitting a giant boulder. At the instantaneous, you may not see any damage but with more time the damages will accumulate and will eventually destroy the boulder. Hence, if you avoid the risk of insulting your significant other by giving them white lies, the relationship will surely last longer. Additionally, being honest all the time can be mentally exhausting for both sides. For example, if you are coming home from a bad day at work and if you talk to your significant other about every problem you have, it will add more burden on your partner. Therefore, sometimes lying by saying that you are fine will be a better option. In conclusion, even though, trust and honesty are the basic foundation of a relationship but white-lies may be necessary for many scenarios. However, the most important thing in a relationship is understanding the other point of view and try to emphasize it with your partner.