Many cities around the world have seen an explosion in the number of supermarkets appearing on the high street and out of the town shopping centers. This development has led to increased choice for customers; ensured prices are kept low and make the shopping experience a lot easier Give reasons to your answer and include and relevant examples from your knowledge and experience.

Due to the increasing number of retail industries around major cities and shopping malls, market competition is providing a favorable impact to the buying public. In my view, this development will benefit most of the consumers as this will encourage a perfect competition for the sellers resulting to a cheaper product price and a smoother buying experience. Perfect competition is one of the resulting factors that will cause product prices to decline according to the supply and demand principle in economics. Furthermore, if many sellers are available in the market with a low product demand, sellers will opt to reduce their prices to attract the prospective buyer. A basic example is the price of perishable goods such as apples and banana. If several stores are selling same quality of product, the buyer will most probably select the cheapest one. Otherwise, if seller will not reduce the price, he might not sell it to another person and loss his capital. In other point of view, surge of supermarkets will provide a smooth buying experience. Firstly, since there are several options to the buyer, they can select the best quality of product, with consideration of its price. Moreover, some people with no private cars or living far away from the city can take advantage of the nearest available store for their daily needs without spending time in travelling to city center. In my opinion, increasing of stores may lead to reduced price of goods and easier shopping experience for some people. However, each shopper should be responsible in their buying habits and ensure to take advantage of above-mentioned benefits, rather than overspending and buying unnecessary items.