Parents should have no control over the lives of their children once they turn 16.

Every parent wants their children to develop a sense of independence, responsibility, and respect, so they always pay attention to all mental and physical development and changes whether they are small or even reach the age of adolescence. This essay agrees that parents play a significant part in the lives of their children once they turn 16 because they need to be considerate, educated and guided during the challenging teenage years. Firstly, the psychological and cognitive changes among adolescents make them more bad-tempered and sensitive to their surroundings. This is a time of changes for how teenagers think, feel, and interact with others, and how their bodies grow(“Teenagers (15-17 years of age)”). They are easily in a huff even when it is just a little issue. They seem to feel being annoyed and even come to controversies considered as teenage rebellion. Adolescents who were securely attached to one or both parents reported significantly more positive and fewer negative interactions with their parents than did teens who were insecurely attached to both parents(Ducharme). Simultaneously, they tend to pay more attention to their body changes and the assessment of others. They might feel a lot of sadness or depression, which can lead to poor grades at school, alcohol or drug use, unsafe sex, and other problem(“Teenagers (15-17 years of age)”). Hence, parents play a significant role in easing teenagers' concerns and helping them overwhelm the most difficult time. Secondly, At this stage, teenager's inadequate cognitive thinking has a considerable influence on their impulsive actions and careless decisions. It is a period of biological, cognitive and social change of such magnitude and rapidity that it is no surprise to find that it is associated with the onset or exacerbation of a number of health-related problems including depression, eating disorders, substance abuse and dependence, risky sexual behaviour, antisocial and delinquent activity and school dropout(Moretti). They are of interest to explore everything and expand social relationships, which poses a challenge for them to better choose between a wide range of good and bad things. Generally, teenagers are likely to show more independence and self-esteem. However, they are also susceptible to bad impacts that always exist and attract their curiosity such as drugs, alcohol, insecure sex, etc. Parent’s guidance provides them more knowledge to better self-protect and be aware of those things than ignorance and no control. Those on the other side of the issue may say that parents should give children some space to experience their life and self-decide their issues instead of excessively controlling their lives once they are 16. Their actions or decisions may well be right or wrong, which makes a memorable youth. In “Want to control your teens? Don’t, ” Dr. John Grohol, Psy. D. , pointed out that efforts to over-control a teen could be counterproductive and ultimately reinforce the exact behaviors they were trying to control (often sexually-oriented behaviors). As a result, the controversy between parents and children tends to increase and cause unexpected conflicts and misunderstandings and it can affect children's perceptions and behaviors. They can even become violent, negative, and easy to lose temperature due to pressure. For this reason, opponents claim that parents need to let their children choose their lives as they get into adolescence. Nevertheless, no one can deny that the love and affection offered by a parent is not something that can be replaced by a peer, counselor or anyone else and that is why parents should still be able to control the lives of their children even after the age of 16(“Parents Have No Right To Control The Lives Of Children Above 16, ” 2019). It is important to remember that adolescents need their parents not only to set appropriate expectations and boundaries, but also to advocate for them(Torres). In summary, this essay draws the fact that irrespective of some debates, parents should monitor and associate themselves with their teenagers to run their lives. Teenagers should know that they still need their parents even if they are not of the same opinion.