Parents should encourage their children to take a part in organised activity - other say that it is important to learn how to occupy themselves.

Many people think that children should be motivated by their parents to enrol in organised group activities in their leisure time while others say that children should learn how to keep themselves busy on their own. In my opinion, both the options have their advantages and drawbacks. Children who take part in organised group activities receive many social, mental and psychological benefits. Firstly, engaging a child in an organised sport gives them a healthy habit of physical activity that helps them ward off age and weight-related ailment later in life. For example, playing a team sport like cricket involves a lot of running and many different body movements which help participants to stay healthy and active. Moreover, it gives opportunities to learn trust, determination, sportsmanship, self-discipline and the importance of working with teammates to achieve a common goal. Such skills help children to find success in their life as they grow. On the flip side, it is not always possible to participate in well-structured group events. All children have their own life and they want the best in their life. Therefore, children should be given the freedom to make their own decision in what they want to do in their free time. In this way, children learn how to manage their own life and they will learn how to overcome any problems that they face in the future. The importance downside of giving freedom for free time utilisation to children is that they may use it for unproductive activities. For instance, most children spend their time in front of the television and the computer which will be harmful to their eyes and health. In conclusion, having considered both views, it is obvious that the organised group activities have more benefits. However, children should find a way to keep themselves occupied with their own because it is not always possible for then to participate in such activities.