Parents put a lot of pressure on children to succeed. Do you think this is a good or bad thing?

Nowadays many children are pressurized by their parents be successful individuals. In my opinion, while parents may do this with good intentions, there are severe negatives effects associated with this kind of behavior being subjected to the younger ones. On the one hand, the major argument given in favor of pressurizing children for future achievements is that it keeps them from being unproductive. In other word, many young children when given leniency, take it for granted and tend to laze around instead of being productive and studying. Recent research shows that children tend to deviate from their path under negative peer pressure if left unsupervised for a long time. Furthermore, it is frequently believed by parents that if not urged their children may be realize their full potential, which may be regretful for them in the future. Hence, people believe that children may be stressed to work hard and achieve good results. On the other hand, this constant stress of performing well leads to collapse of mental health of a child. Parents tend to compare their younger ones and their achievements with that of their friends or other relatives, this results in children losing their confidence and thus self-esteem. This continuous spotlight on the youngsters by their guardians is one of the major reasons of a number of psychological issues such as, anxiety and depression. Furthermore, it appears to be impossible for children to perform well when they are in perpetual state of stress, resulting in them second-guessing their every decision. This is the reason why parents perhaps should not burden their children under the weight of their expectations. In conclusion, parents tend to put the burden their children for better achievements and successful life. I think, although this may help in some cases where children are not being responsible enough, overall, this seems stem several mental health issues among young children and should be considered a negative approach.