How ancestor shaped who we are

The fast-paced development today is bringing comforts and luxuries in life, however, have we ever stopped for a moment and asked: “Who has been affecting our personalities and traits to be like we are today? ”. There are many aspects to consider while trying to discover who we are, how we evolved, and strive to be the person we want to be. My personal story will be pointed out in the following paragraphs. As the scientific field has been developing significantly, there are a lot of tests and genes or DNA that might reveal where our ancestors came from or what is our strengths or weaknesses. From the moment that we were born, our fingerprints have never been changed. There are four types of fingerprints which are mountain, eagle, water, and carp. Each type will have different features and shapes. Interestingly, sometimes children might have the same ten fingerprints as their parents. My family took a biological fingerprint test a year ago and each person had different results. We found out that my sister and my brother have a similar strength which is long-term memory. Our family’s purpose in doing this test was to find our strongest career path to be successful in life. Besides that, knowing what we are good at sometimes can reveal our true talent. I believe that our ancestors have a lot of impacts on our lives and traditions we follow. My family is Asian and has strong belief in our culture which is quite different from how Western families raise their children. There are some customs that most Asian families follow when their children are small. First and foremost, we are not allowed to eat before adults, this is considered respectful and mannerly. Secondly, parents are our role models within our homes. Following our parents’ footsteps and their wishes is common and considered necessary. This is the reason why the rate of family businesses in Asia is higher than in Western countries. Last but not least, we are not allowed to compare ourselves with someone lower class than us. This action is considered as being undetermined and lazy while we aim to do something. From my perspective, I think the traits are created from nature and nurture. Children will have an affection from their family’s tradition or routine, which is easy to understand. However, it is undeniable that when we go to school, our peers also affect our personalities remarkably. Moreover, children will have peer pressure when everyone has the same thing, but they do not have it. My father has influenced me a lot. Sometimes, I realize how similar my dad’s personality and mine are. However, I always try to be the best version of myself, I cannot be a ‘reproduction’ of my dad. Going study abroad marked such a big event of my whole life, moreover, I recognize that I must change to adapt to a different environment, especially I have to allow myself to go out of my ‘safe zone’. But I am still proud of my parents who did such a great job of raising me until today. In the end, I truly believe that at some point, we might realize how similar our appearances or personalities are compared to our ancestors. The importance of knowing our ancestor’s traditions and lives in the past is respecting and appreciating our existence and presents lives.