PARENTS OF OBESE CHILDREN SHOULD BE PUNISHED FOR MAKING THEIR CHILDREN FAT.

Globally, juvenile obesity has become a matter of serious concern. It is often debated that parents should be penalized for the problem of overweight in children. This essay will argue in support of the premise that they should be sanctioned for this. Firstly, parents have become too busy to fulfill the nutritional needs of their children by purchasing and feeding them with junk foods purchased from fast food outlets, rather than make healthy homemade meals. The problem is not in ensuring that young ones are kept full on their stomach; instead, the challenge lies with the fact that young people are fed with diets that foster excessive weight gain, a situation that some caregivers have refused to give attention to. 95% of young obese individuals were found to be a product of homes where mothers feed young people with restaurant foods, according to a recent survey conducted in India. Thus, feeding young ones with diets that promotes overweight is a serious offence that they should be held accountable for. Secondly, once plump, many juveniles find it challenging to shed the weight gained because their guardians do not encourage them to engage in physical activities that could enhance weight loss. Most fathers and/or mothers do not take physical exercises seriously. So, assisting there become an arduous task. In many Nigerian homes, for instance, it’s not a common practice to see fathers and mothers and their children engaging in keep fit routine. As a result, weight-loss becomes a challenge for young ones suffering from corpulence. Overall, failure on the part of some father and mother to assist their young loved ones in losing some calories, make them responsible for the weight gained by their offspring. This essay argued why parents should be punished for the obese nature of their wards. Conclusively, then, they should be regarded as the cause of nutritional deficiency and activities that foster obesity in little ones.