Parents Of Obese Children Should Be Punished For Making Their Children Fat.

In recent years, obesity has become the most common health issue among children. Many people believe that parents of obese kids should be penalized for their role in making their children overweight. This essay disagrees with this statement because it is not possible for parents to constantly monitor what their children are eating; also, in many cases genetics play a crucial role in making children obese. The food consumption of children cannot be monitored by parents all the time. When children are at school, they eat snacks and junk and parents will have no control over their dietary intake during this period. A child could consume a lot of junk food without the knowledge and permission of their mother and father when they are left unsupervised. This routine could eventually lead to addiction towards high-calorie food and can cause a lot of fluctuations in their weight. A recent study found that the majority of students consume an average of 70% of their per day recommended calorie allowance during school hours alone in the form of unhealthy food. Genetic issues can also cause weight inconsistencies among children and teenagers. Innate genetic disorders drop the metabolic rate and it becomes burdensome for children to maintain their body mass index. In these circumstances, there are little parents can do to help their children maintain normal weight and they should not be held accountable because it is the child’s genes that are most responsible. A recent research paper found that 30% of the children in North America suffer from morbid obesity due to genetic disorders and are vulnerable to extra body fat. In conclusion, parents should not be punished if their sons or daughters are overweight because it is impractical to keep a check on their diet throughout the day and genes play a crucial role in determining the weight of a human.