Owning a car is becoming increasingly more popular over past 3 decades. With everyone purchasing there own car has eventually gave a path to heavy traffic jam in big cities.

Owning a car is becoming increasingly more popular over past 3 decades. With everyone purchasing there own car has eventually gave a path to heavy traffic jam in big cities. I totally agree to this because it is now clear that traffic jam is the major concern that government is dealing in metropolitan areas. This essay will discuss the measures need to be implemented by the government to reduce car usage. Firstly, government has to take one major step to provide better public transportation. Here better refers to both quality and quantity. For example, two decades back the total population was around 700 million in India and available public transportation was able to sustain that local travelers. However the population has rapidly increased by 2021, on the contrary, the public transport remained same. Therefore, authority has to allocate more number of buses for single bus route to balance the crowd. Secondly, the authority should keep in mind that the price range of public transportation should be affordable by every individual. For example, government has taken good initiative and started new Metrorail which covers whole Hyderabad city. However, railway corporation have kept huge amount for using Metrorail even for shorter distance. Consequently, many people from lower financial background could not afford it. To conclude, if management can provide better alternative for travelling with good quality as well as for lower price it could encourage more individuals to use public transportation instead of using there own cars.