One Child Policy has been noted as an effective way to help contain the overflow of population.

Policies have a phenomenal power towards civilians, both positive and negative. The one child policy is a birth planning procedure that restricts couples from having more than one child. It was first prefaced by the Chinese leader Deng Xiaoping in the Republic of China from 1979 through 2015. Over the years, it gained a discriminative reputation for its cruel, brutal, and unethical methods. The one-child policy in China, which stirred up a lot of controversy in social media, was aimed to aid the rapid population growth. China was facing a significant problem in which it had to feed 22% of the world with just 7% of its land. Nevertheless, I believe that the mechanism of this procedure adds up to the existent issues while barely achieving its initial aim. Firstly, I would like to bring up the injustice towards families facing the protocol who not only will get their infants taken away, but also get harsh treatment. Back when the policy was active in China, many grieving parents shared stories of losing their children in the face of the then-active one child policy. Washington Post journalist Simon Denyer interviewed people who experienced the horror in hopes to discover what they underwent. Amongst many cases, a man who went through the protocol in China described it as uncivil. Afterward, he led on with details of how a group of people barged into their home, grabbed his wife like she was a pig, and put the baby in a plastic bag to be buried alive on a nearby hill. The family shouldn't have to put up with such a traumatic encounter that eminently defies their human rights. If the one child policy becomes globally implemented, there would undoubtedly be a disparity of gender ratio, possibly as drastic as China's gender imbalance at the time of the policy in which two-thirds of the population were men. Since only one child is allowed, families would most likely choose to abandon girls rather than boys because of their ability to carry their surname for generations to come and the belief that they will grow up to have more potential in money-making. The imbalance in gender will cause problems since it will be increasingly difficult for a man to find a wife to bear him children and maintain the family line. Another significant issue that may come along with the one-child policy is the increase in abortion and infanticide rates. Formerly in China, the number of abortions was equivalent to an estimated nine folds of other countries. Moreover, the use of infanticides jumped a whopping 60% from its initial digits. The birth rate quickly depleted from 2. 75 births per woman to 1. 62. The likelihood that a similar case will take place if this policy were to be applied to other countries is undeniably high. Furthermore, an issue that may surface is the government targeting the urban poor more rather than the wealthy. This issue has happened before and is most likely to happen again. The wealthy could easily pay the fine for having multiple children. On the other hand, it is not that simple for the impecunious. If they cannot afford to pay the fine for having additional children, there is a possibility that their property would be seized. This will lead to major issues in the likes of child abandonment and poverty. Not only will this policy be a detriment to citizens but also the government themselves. Financially speaking, enforcement policies and procedures require a lot of money. Even after citizens pay the fine, it will still wound up to a significant financial loss. Based on China's history with this policy, the government's intake from the fines never fully recouped the expenses of the one-child policy. All in all, it has been proven by China that the one-child policy was a failure of a procedure. I believe that it would be entirely indecent to replicate the same mistake in other countries. Instead, I think that overpopulation should be handled with subtler measures such as spreading the importance of family planning. The prior-existing idea of giving incentives to families who abide by the policy is efficacious if precluding the part where they repudiated the additional child.