Overpopulation of urban areas has led to numerous problems. Identify one or two serious ones and suggest ways that governments and individuals can tackle these problems.

Nowadays the number of people moving to cities is increasing at a rapid pace. Unfortunately, this trend has generated some negative side-effects such as sanitation problems in crowded areas as well as ever increasing traffic on roads. This essay will further discuss about these issues and measures that can be taken to tackle them. Most governments are struggling to keep up the minimum level of sanitation in the urban areas. There are few vacant lands available for people to live despite the growing number of people coming into these cities. Hence, the local councils are failing to keep the places clean. One of the most obvious examples is the garbage that is thrown onto the roads. Moreover, there are enormous levels of traffic on the roads of every urban city in the world. This issue directly wasting the valuable time of the citizens. Not only that, the amount money wasted on fuel also alarming for the economy of nations. In the Colombo city it takes more than 2 hours to commute 17 kilometres, which people can travel in 40 minutes without the traffic. There are quite a few actions that can be taken to address the problem generated by overpopulation. Firstly, the government can develop the public transportation of the cities such as railway systems. Because it has been identified that railway is one of the most feasible solution for the raising traffic problem all over the world. Secondly, by building more garbage-recycling plants in the cities, authorities can manage to keep the urban areas clean, which eventually increase the sanitation level of these places. In conclusion, due to the overpopulation, most raising problems faced by urban cities are sanitation issues and heavy traffic on the roads. However, if governments can improve the public transportation systems and develop more waste recycling plants in those areas to these issues can be tackled.