Overpopulation has been becoming more serious than ever.

There are a number of reasons that contribute to overpopulation in the world. The first cause is that medical science is developing successfully in many countries. It led to lower mortality rates for many serious diseases. In addition, the birth rate is higher than the death rate nowadays. Another reason behind this tendency is that households in some countries still keep the old social stereotypes such as gender discrimination, male-dominated, early marriage at a young age, etc, … In other words, families choose to have more than one child due to the influence of these stereotypes and outdated marriage practices. Overpopulation is one of the most pressing issues that we are facing today. Furthermore, the problem of population growth causes a lot of significant consequences. First of all, it can trigger many social problems in human life. To put it simply, overpopulation impacts on the quality of life, infrastructure, health facility, education, employment opportunities, … According to the International Labor Organization (ILO), the unemployment rate increased from 4. 4% in 2019 to 5. 2%-5. 7% in 2020. An additional effect also the most crucial problem right now is environmental degradation. It has caused many troubles for nature, some of them are deforestation, global warming, air pollution, etc, … For instance, overpopulation leads to more waste, especially plastic and non-biodegradable waste, that amount of waste is discharged into the environment such as beaches, rivers, and lakes, bringing about heavy water pollution. The impacts of overpopulation are accelerating alarmingly so it has become essential to identify ways to tackle them. To start off, the government should set some policies to control the birth rate in their country. Take for example, in China, the government has set one-child policy so that population percentage can be stable at an allowable level. Last but most importantly, schools must have lessons on sex education for young children. Consequently, there will be a positive change in the population rate in the near future.