Over the last few decades, it is an irrefutable point that the environment is exposed to many dangers. Various human activities have caused a large number of species to be on the brink of extinction. In this essay, I will discuss some of the causes and remedial measures to curb this alarming issue

Over the last few decades, it is an irrefutable point that the environment is exposed to many dangers. Various human activities have caused a large number of species to be on the brink of extinction. In this essay, I will discuss some of the causes and remedial measures to curb this alarming issue. One major human activity on land is deforestation. The mercurial growth of cities and the rapid construction of factories to help feed the thirst for economic growth have come at the cost of many woodlands. Forests are ecological habitats where animals search for food and thrive. Losing their only home means losing basic necessities needed for survival which inevitably poses a great threat leading to their deaths. Besides, the illegal discharge of industrial waste is another reason for the increase in endangered wildlife. The pollutants from the toxins kill aquatic animals and plants by reducing the oxygen content of the water. Concentration of mercury in battery manufacturers, mining, and paper mills waste makes the water dangerous and poisonous for most living things. There are a few solutions that can be adopted to solve this problem. Firstly, we should create awareness among the citizens. Awareness about the importance of conserving forests and reducing pollution on Earth can be created through campaigns for example, the “ Go Green” campaign which encourages citizens to plant more trees and to use recyclable items in their daily lives. Awareness can be implanted through education in school, advertisements on televisions and articles in newspapers which are related to topics like the consequences of greed on Mother Earth. The government also plays an important role by enforcing the laws of the country. Heavy penalties can be set to offenders such as increasing fines and extending jail periods which will force them to think twice before they pollute the environment indirectly setting a warning to others. Besides, strict monitoring on factories by the government can also contribute to reducing pollution as they are the ones who contribute to most of the water pollution on earth when illegally disposing toxic and harmful waste into the water. In conclusion, the significant decrease in the number of animals today can be attributed to human led industrial development. The government and its citizens can take conscious steps to acknowledge our actions and overcome this distressing matter.