The percentage of overweight children in western society has increased by almost 20% in the last ten years. Discuss the causes and effects of this disturbing trend.

There have been various changes in societal structure during past decade. This is illustrated in children, as obesity seemed to have escalated almost by 20% in western society. What can be the causes and consequences for this? The preliminary reason responsible for this, is the choice of food, followed by the lifestyle and genes. Firstly, there has been a complete shift in the diet patterns, where nutritious food is less likely to be consumed by everyone. When it comes to kids, they follow the same trend, for example gobbling unhealthy junk food. The reason behind this is ease of availability and cooking. Secondly, leaving nourishment apart, mobile phones and televisions are chosen by majority of preschoolers and teenager in their middle childhood as leisure activities. Thus, they had extremely limited exposure in playgrounds leading them to lose the opportunity for burning fats and end up with extra kilograms. Apart from this, heredity is responsible for higher body weight, although, it seems to have immensely limited impact on the percentage of population. On the other side, these habits may have a serious impact in future generation. As obese teens grew into adults, they tend to be lethargic and uninterested towards physical work. This further increase obesity which is the root cause of various other diseases including diabetes and heart stoke. Higher body mass also impacts an individual’s personality and confidence level. It is observed that, bulky people frequently feel nervous during public appearances and avoid being leaders. To summarize, it is correctly said that a healthy mind rests in a healthy body. It is a social responsibility to nurture physically and mentally fit people right from their early stages, for a better world.