Our televisions, computer screens and streets are full of adverts for goods and services. Some experts say that advertising has a positive impact whereas others see it as dangerous. What is your opinion?

Nowadays, there is no doubt that advertising is everywhere. They appear on streets and roads in the form of banners, as well as pop up constantly on our electronic devices while we surf the internet or try to watch television programmes. Although advertisements can be beneficial, I am of the opinion that a huge quantity of them can bring detrimental effects on society. It has to be acknowledged that commercials are necessary for the economy. Indeed, when adverts reach a large portion of population, the demand increases which lead to companies and sellers compete agaisnt each other to attract buyers. As a result, there will be price reduction for essential products. Beside, advertising is one of the few ways to generate revenue for some people. A few ads in order to enjoy many free yet valuable contents on the Internet seem like a fair trade to me. However, we should not ignore the downsides. As far as I am concerned, the most worrying aspect of commercials is that they promote unrealistic products. For example, many foods and drinks or medicine are described as miracle, and that they can fix all kind of diseases and conditions in a short time. This is, as many researches show, hugely inaccurate, and might make people fall into a false sense of security about their health. Furthermore, when consumers are bombarded with adverts, some of them become desperate to purchase and possess them. This phenomenon can lead to financial troubles, psychological illness, even family breakdown. Additionally, government ought to look into advertisements on videos created for children. On popular platform such as Youtube, Tiktok, there are many contents that, despite being created to attract kids, promote violence, which can heavily affect children's mind in the long term. In conclusion, while there are certain benefits of adverts, I believe that a lot of them are harmful, damaging and insidious. I fear that with the direction most advertising companies are heading, the problems will only increase.