Our society has been developed, leading to high-tech gadgets become more popular such as computers, mobiles phone

Our society has been developed, leading to high-tech gadgets become more popular such as computers, mobiles phones. However, there are those who opine that young people's reading and writing capacity are affected by these means of communication. In my estimation, I would agree that this has both positive and negative impacts on improving such skills. On the one hand, I agree that over-dependence on modern communication devices, resulting from the poor performance in writing and reading skills of young generation. In the modern-day, people tend to use computer software when composing text documents due to its convenient functions. A clear example, Microsoft Word provides users a chance to modify or erase a piece of text without effort, simultaneously slowing down the writing speed of the users. In addition, a case study published by Unicef has illustrated that more than two-thirds of children and young people have spent almost 4 hours a day on social media, video games, which means they are likely to impair their reading competence in the long term. On the other hand, I would agree that the proper use of computers and mobiles phones would significantly contribute to the improvement of such skills. The first reason is that by using those devices with access to the Internet, users could get an unlimited source of information. This allows them to gain knowledge, and therefore, they are able to enrich their vocabulary, especially for those who learn languages. BBC News, as an example, is useful for English learners. Another reason is that, with the development of social networking sites, people now can easily create blogs and express their thoughts or inner feelings. Today, people who frequently travel often update stories about natural scenery that they visited. By writing regularly, the writing ability of a person is certain to improve. In conclusion, I concur that with the way society is currently progressing, this development of technologies could have both advantages and disadvantages for the reading and writing skills of young people, depending on the way they use.