Our personalities are predetermined as a result of our genes before we are born and there is nothing that can be done to alter our character traits.

It is a widely held belief that one’s character and behavioral traits are fixed by genetics and these unique characteristics are perpetual in nature. I agree to a certain extent. It is well known that the fundamental traits of a person are predetermined by genetics and it is also proven by science that innate abilities and behavioral traits can be passed on through genes. Some of the common attributes and qualities passed on through genetic material include physique, talents, behavior, and health conditions. It is passed down for generations and is termed as heredity. Change is the only constant in life. This philosophy applies to all living beings and humans too. The human genome is constantly evolving and adapting to different conditions on every perceivable level from behavior to core human functions. A person is also shaped by his or her experiences and adapt according to their perceptions. This has the potential to alter behavioral traits and adhering to evolution, the genes imprint information in itself and pass it on to the next generation. It is also proven by scientific studies in psychology that human beings adapt to situations and display the remarkable ability to learn from their experiences. This also applies to the core behavioral traits. Such traits do not change but are tempered and altered by experience. To conclude, talents, health conditions, and some aspects of behavior are passed on for generations through DNA. But this basic code does not apply completely to behavior as it can be modified by personal experiences. However, the genetic code applies completely to health conditions such as hereditary diseases.