Our personalities are predetermined as a result of our genes before we are born and there is nothing that can be done to change our character traits.

It argues that our personalities are predefined as an effect of genes before our birth and it is impossible to change. In my view, while I agree that the character of the individual is inborn, it can also be altered. The character of an individual is the one, which is built, before birth genetically. An individual personality is directly related to his or her genes, it is developed pre-birth. People possess behaviour and attitude in the same way as their parent’s nature and they react to different situations the exact way their parents do. That is to say, if a person possesses an aggressive mind, it is highly likely that his or her parents would be short-tempered. A recent survey by the International Institute of London, for instance, showed that children who are polite in nature are highly likely, owing to their parents possessing such attitude. However, personality and behaviour of an individual can be changed. A person may have a certain type of behaviour in his or her outlook, which may not be likable, but it can be altered through environment and guidance. This is because people behave and react the same way they are taught. Similarly, spending time in better circumstances, a bad attitude can be converted to a good one. Research by Oxford University, for example, revealed that out of 100 students, 70 students abandoned their unhappy nature by spending time with happy people and learning about the importance of happiness in life. In conclusion, although some believe that personality is a pre-existing thing, due to genes before birth, in my opinion, the character of a person can be modified, through guidance and environment.