ou should spend about 40 minutes on this task In the modern world the image photograph or film is becoming a more powerful way of communicating than the written word Give reasons for

In today' s world, images in the form of photographs, films and pictures are used everywhere as a means of communicating with the public. I certainty agree that such images have become a very powerful means of communication and they are used in many different sectors to influence, inform and entertain the public. The media, for example, use images to give detailed information and immediate impact to their news coverage. Similarly, advertising industries constantly use images to influence, persuade and make people identify with what they see. The powerful attraction of images is also evident in the entertainment industry and even in the growth in mobile phones that can send photos as part of a regular personal ' conversation' . However, while it is evident that the image has certainly become a very powerful way of communicating, that it not to say that it has become more powerful than either the written or spoken word. Images can be interpreted in a range of different ways, and because of this they are rarely used alone. Captions, headlines and written explanations or spoken commentaries almost always accompany the use of images, whether they are used in advertising or the media. Used alone, the message of a picture can be notoriously misleading, and is less effective as a result. In conclusion, therefore, I only partly agree with the statement. While it is true that images can send very powerful messages, they are only really effective as a means of communication when used together with either the written or spoken word.