Organized tours to remote areas and community are increasingly popular. Is it a positive or negative development for the local people and the environment?

In recent years, there is a rapidly growing tendency for tourists to travel to remote areas and community. Although the merits are considerable, there are still some horrible demerits that this issue brings. On the one side, the rising number of tours in local areas is really beneficial for the residents there. First of all, it can create many employment opportunities for the unemployed in that area, for which it will contribute to the business and the economic value. Since the local workforce only accounts for a small amount, this issue can be a good measure to tackle underemployment. Moreover, those areas may become tourist service providers which therefore improve the living standards for the local people living there. Therefore, it not only benefits the locals but it also opens a fortune for many companies which will invest on preserving rich biodiversity here. On the other side, further number of tours can also pose several detrimental effects. For one thing, many facilities will be built which therefore cut down the acreage of trees in those areas. As a consequence, it will be the root cause for lots of kinds of pollution, hence the decrease of people’s health. Furthermore, more animals will be driven to the verge of extinction as they have to satisfy people’s demands for which hardly any animals can survive throughout the years. Indeed, tourists often thoughtlessly throw garbage wherever they go, for which it will lead to areas contamination. Therefore, a polluted habitat will be formed In conclusion, despite the fact that tourism can be the benefactor for the economy in particular and society in general in some remote areas and community, I think that the drawbacks it brings are far more noticeable and significant.