Some people think that zoos are cruel and should be closed down. Others, however, believe that zoos can be useful in protecting wild animals. Discuss both views and give your opinion

It is considered by several people that zoological parks are harsh and should be abolished, while there are others who supports such places as it can give safety and new home to wild animals. While wildlife parks can help increase awareness and protection of endangered species, I believe that its unnatural environment and cramped living conditions of animals make the existence of zoos unacceptable. Zoological parks served as breeding programs for endangered species that helped their numbers increased positively while held in captivity, particularly those that are facing extinctions. This is important for ensuring their survival under the threat of human hunting and deforestation. In addition, zoos are also considered as educational parks as it raise awareness to people and the desire to save the animals will intensify. For instance, the danger of permanently losing the Philippine Eagle in the wild life due to hunting has gradually decrease because they were being taken care of in the zoos which also aided as their breeding ground with the help of experts. On the other hand, a significant percentage of zoos in many parts of the world have unideal shelters which makes the animals’ situation unbearable. A plethora of animals living in cramped cages and displeasing habitat cause heavy stress to in their mental and physical health. A good example of this is the elephant Malia living in Manila Zoo. Several Animal advocates have called for her release due to her poor living condition as she is living in isolation which caused her health to greatly deteriorate. To conclude, zoological parks can be of great help to keep the existence of endangered animals. However, their being captive in zoological parks has led to mental stress and declining health due to poor living conditions and unnatural habitat. All these factors amount to cruelty and inhumane treatment, therefore, zoos should be abolished and closed down.