Online shopping is replacing offline or shopping from stores. Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

It has been observed that e-purchasing has been gaining popularity since the last decade. This essay will discuss the merits and demerits associated with this development before it reaches to an appropriate conclusion. There arguably are certain disadvantages for buying from the online stores. The focal con for this is unrealistic colours of the product display in the image. To elaborate, you may hardly get the exact colour of the item which is expected, even though the exact colour of the product is displayed as an image on the online shopping portal. Hence human eye can distinguish a plethora of variants of the same colour which would never be possible to identify the exact shade of the product in the photograph. In addition to this, get the feel of the item also comes across as a disadvantage worth considering. You do not get the leverage to try or feel the material of the item buying from the websites, whereas in the physical shop you can try different items and at the end you can buy the product which perfectly suits you. There clearly are more advantages. The most significant merit, however, is that one can compare the same thing on different websites. Individuals have the right make any purchase at the best price. Though some store-keepers give reasonable discount to their customers, the client never satisfies with the price which does not have the case while buying from the e-portals because the price of any items is pre-defined by the vendors. Furthermore, variety of choices is, without a doubt, a clear advantage. That is to say, In the e-stores plethora of options available for a single category of items which ultimately satisfy the customer need to select the relevant one from the wide range of choices. Another noteworthy merit for this is discount. To clear the dead stock many e-shopping websites give massive discounts during the off seasons that would help the buyers to purchase the item at that time in an affordable price. Finally, a descent warranty period and refund are also advantages linked to this development. To conclude, like a coin that has two sides, there undoubtedly are clear disadvantages such as trust on the product and feel of the item and advantages such as comparison with a number of competitors and huge range of selections for online purchasing. However, considering the magnitude of the merits and favorable impacts it can have on making purchase from the internet I am of the opinion that the e-shopping outweigh the offline shopping.