Online shopping is becoming more common these days

Online shopping is becoming more popular nowadays. Younger generation who is more tech savvy is more likely to use online shopping. The industry also experience a sharp growth in the past 2 years due to the pandemic where everyone is kept at home against their will. There are certainly some impact from the shift of shopping habits. Online shopping has negative impact over the environment as it creates more plastic waste due to the packaging involves. Items shipped for online shopping need to be wrapped properly to ensure the goods are not damaged when receive by the customer. A lot of plastic been used for that purpose such as bubble wraps. All of these are disposable items which cannot be recycled. They all will end up in landfills eventually. Besides that, online shopping has also increase the frequency of transportation around the world let it be by plane, ferry or car. All of these requires fuels to operate and they produce carbon dioxide as well. The convenience of online shopping allows people to purchase far away from home, while these goods need to be transported, it pollutes the environment along the way. On the other hand, the job market is also greatly affected by the shift in shopping trend. The job required switch in accordance to market demand. Since market has less demand for physical store, this will also be reflected on the job market. For example, a company may cut down the number of their store attendant and recruit digital content creator or website manager instead. People who fails to see the change in market demand may be at risk of losing their jobs if no improvement has been made. Moreover, we can see more jobs being created within the transportation sector, as there are higher demand for deliveries. In conclusion, online shopping has immerse impact on the environment as well as the employment market. Corporate and the government must work together to curb the environmental impact while employee must constantly be updated on the market changes and seek for improvement in order to stay in the job market.